csk Vs Mi prediction

April 7, 2018


Mumbai Indians (MI) take on Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in Match 1 of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2018 at the Wankhede Stadium. The match will begin after the conclusion of the glittering opening ceremony, which will begin around 6 PM and go on till 7.15 PM. However, after that it will be all about cricket. MI and CSK have had many close matches in the past and this match too promises to be a mouth-watering affair. Incidentally, the last time these two teams met was in the IPL 2015 final, which MI won by 41 runs. As today Chennai Super kings would try to Showcase there performance a they are back from there ban so they would be like wounded tiger who wants to take there revenge and try to win from where they left and Mumbai as Ipl  Champion won’t make it easy for Chennai Super kings player’s to watch today are MS Dhoni (c & wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Suresh Raina, Harbhajan Singh, Faf Du Plessis, Dwayne Bravo , Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah,Mustafizur Rahman, Kieron Pollard.

Back after two years

CSK return to the IPL after a ban of two years. They were found guilty in the spot-fixing and consequently did not play in the 2016 and 2017 editions of the tournament. But they are back for this edition and what’s more is that they have managed to hang on to the core members, who were pivotal in helping them win two titles. Not to forget, CSK have made it to 6 out of the 10 finals in the tournament. CSK were in the tournament for only 8 seasons, which makes their feat all the more commendable.

Coming back to their players, baring MS Dhoni, the franchise have managed to get Suresh Raina (leading run-scorer in IPL), Dwayne Bravo (leading wicket-taker in T20s and IPL), Murali Viijay, Ravindra Jadeja and Faf du Plessis, who played a pivotal role in helping CSK win two titles. They made some sensible buys in the IPL 2018 auction as well, getting in all-rounders like Shane Watson, quality bowlers like Imran Tahir, Harbhajan Singh and attacking batsmen like Ambati Rayudu and Kedar Jadhav.

Even the coaching staff — Stephen Fleming, Lakshmipathy Balaji and Michael Hussey — are former CSK players and understand what it means to play and win for the franchise. With Dhoni not captaining at the international level anymore, this is the only tournament where the fans will get to see the World Cup winning skipper in action.

However, they would have expected a lot from New Zealand all-rounder Mitchell Santner, who left everyone stunned with his figures of 4-11 in the ICC World T20 2016 match against India, with his slow left-arm. With him being ruled out of the tournament, there will be a lot of pressure on other spinners like Harbhajan and Karn Sharma to perform with both bat and ball.

It is believed that Faf du Plessis is nursing a finger injury. Although there are no reports to suggest that he will surely miss the opener, he still remains doubtful.

Defending champions

Like CSK, MI too have retained many players, who played a crucial role in helping their side win three IPL titles. While Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah and Hardik Pandya were retained ahead of the IPL 2018 auction, MI retained Krunal Pandya and Kieron Pollard by using their Right To Match (RTM) card.

MI have a new look overseas bowling contingent with the likes Pat Cummins, Akila Dhananjaya and Mustafizur Rahman coming in. Also, the addition of JP Duminy and Ben Cutting further add to their depth. Young Indian talents like Rahul Chahar and Anukul Roy make their spin department even stronger. Overall, MI have some excellent all-rounders along with some power-hitters in the side, that make them extremely dangerous. Other than winning this match, their aim will be to make it to the playoffs and given their squad, they should not have any problem reaching that stage.

Not to forget, left-arm pacer Jason Behrendorff was picked in the auction, but his injury has forced him out of the competition. This paved way for the return of Mitchell McClenghan, who won the title with MI last year.

Head-to-head: In the IPL, CSK and MI have faced each other 22 times. MI have the edge, having won 12, while CSK have won 10. Overall, these two teams have faced each other 24 times and MI have the edge here as well, winning 13 and CSK have won 11. In the last 7 meetings between these two sides, CSK had won the first 4, while MI bounced back to win the next 3.

At the Wankhede Stadium, MI have won 37 out of their 57 matches. However, they have lost three in a row in IPL at their home ground.

This is the sixth time MI will play the season opener. In the previous five attempts, MI have won twice and lost the remaining matches. CSK, on the other hand, have played the first match of the season thrice and have tasted victory just once.

Another interesting stat is that the home team have won just 4 out of the 7 home matches while playing the first match of the tournament. The other three occasions, the first match of the season have taken in place at a neutral venue.

Likely XI:

Both teams will surely play the core members of their team. But what will be exciting for the fans to see is how they play with the new recruits. Regardless of the result of this match, both teams will look to find the best possible XI for the coming matches and they will have to figure that out very soon.

Mumbai Indians: Evin Lewis, Ishan Kishan (wk), Rohit Sharma (c), Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Kieron Pollard/Akila Dhananjaya, Pat Cummins, Mitchell McClenaghan/Mustafizur Rahman, Jasprit Bumrah

Chennai Super Kings: Murali Vijay, Sam Billings/Faf du Plessis, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu Dwayne Bravo, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Imran Tahir, Shardul Thakur, Mark Wood/Lungi Ngidi

Full squad:

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Krunal Pandya, Ishan Kishan (wk), Kieron Pollard, Pat Cummins, Evin Lewis, Suryakumar Yadav, Ben Cutting, Mustafizur Rahman, Rahul Chahar, Pradeep Sangwan, Mitchell McClenaghan, Jean-Paul Duminy, Saurabh Tiwary, Tajinder Dhillon, Akila Dhananjaya, Nidheesh M D Dinesan, Aditya Tare (wk), Siddhesh Dinesh Lad, Mayank Markande, Sharad Lumba, Anukul Roy, Mohsin Khan

Chennai Super Kings: MS Dhoni (c & wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Suresh Raina, Kedar Jadhav, Dwayne Bravo. Karn Sharma, Shane Watson, Shardul Thakur, Ambati Rayudu, Murali Vijay, Harbhajan Singh, Faf Du Plessis, Mark Wood, Sam Billings, Imran Tahir, Deepak Chahar, Lungi, Ngidi, Asif K M, N Jagadeesan, Kanishk Seth, Monu Singh, Dhruv Shorey, Kshitiz Sharma, Chaitanya Bishnoi


Play Fantasy Cricket For Free And Win Rs 10000 join now

Leave a Reply:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *